1. UNESCO World Heritage List  :
    Singapore Botanic Gardens

    The Singapore Botanic Gardens is Singapore’s first UNESCO World Heritage Site. It was inscribed at the 39th session of the World Heritage Committee, in 2015. The Gardens is recognized for its historical and environmental significance, notably as a hub for science, research and plant conservation. To date, it is the first and only tropical botanic garden inscribed on the list, and is currently managed by the National Parks Board.

  2. UNESCO Creative Cities Network  :
    Creative City of Design

    Singapore is recognized in the UNESCO Creative Cities Network as the Creative City of Design, Singapore being one of the two cities in Southeast Asia with such a designation. This status was designated in 2015, in recognition of Singapore’s efforts in incorporating design and innovation in sustainable development policies and initiatives. The bid was submitted by Design Singapore Council.

    UNESCO is involved in five sectors: Education, Natural Sciences, Social and Human Sciences, Culture, Communication and Information. These sectors are geared towards achieving the objectives defined by the international community, such as the Sustainable Development Goals 2015 – 2030.


    UNESCO aims to engage with educational tools to achieve its goals, mainly “to build peace, eradicate poverty and drive sustainable development”. It is leading the Global Education 2030 Agenda under Sustainable Development Goal 4. The Ministry of Education, Singapore, heads the Education Sub-Commission for Singapore.

    Natural Sciences

    UNESCO Chair on Social Policy Design in Asia, National University of Singapore

    The Natural Sciences Sector contributes to UNESCO’s mission by using science to build peace, to eradicate poverty and to promote sustainable development. The National University of Singapore heads the Natural Sciences Sub-Commission for Singapore.

    Social and Human Sciences

    At the heart of the Social and Human Sciences Sector is the goal to promote inclusivity between and within societies, through knowledge creation and sharing.


    Heritage and Creativity are two of the key areas under the Culture Sector, which UNESCO believes to be crucial in developing cohesion, inclusivity and innovation. The Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth heads the Culture Sub-Commission for Singapore.

    Communication and Information

    The Communication and Information Sector supports the UNESCO Constitution in promoting “free flow of ideas by word and image”. The Ministry of Communications and Information heads the Communication and Information Sub-Commission for Singapore.